Community Members, please read this important update from Library Director Jim Deiters.

Pop Culture Connection: Page➡️Screen Fiction 2018

The book is usually better than the movie. But don't take our word for it; check out these Fiction books coming to the big screen in 2018!

Click on the titles below to place a hold!

Fifty Shades Freed by E.L James

Finally getting the deeper commitment she wanted from Christian Grey, Anastasia now faces challenges she never expected. The steamy conclusion hits theaters Valentine's Day February 14, 2018.

If you like: Erotic Romances, Steamy Romances, Rich Guy-Poor Girl Love Stories


Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews

This novel, from 30 year CIA veteran Jason Matthews, tells the story of Dominika Egorova who seduces and spies on enemies of the state for Vladimir Putin's regime. Hits theaters March 2, 2018.

If you like: Female Spies, Suspense/Thrillers, Action-Packed Stories


Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Wade Watts immerses himself in a virtual utopia to escape the dystopian conditions of the real world. One day he stumbles on a puzzle hidden by the virtual world's creator that some players are willing to risk everything for.  Perfect for fans of Black Mirror, t his adventure is due in theaters March 30, 2018.

If you like: Science Fiction, Dystopias, Action & Adventure


Where'd You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple

Loving but agoraphobic Bernadette suddenly disappears a couple days before the scheduled family vacation to Antarctica. Her daughter must piece together her life through emails, internet articles, and memos to discover where she's gone and why she left. Coming to theaters May 11, 2018

If you like: Epistolary Fiction (stories told through letters, diary entries, emails etc.), Humor, Intricate Storylines


Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

Rachel Chu is excited to visit her boyfriend Nick Young's family in Singapore for the summer. What Rachel doesn't know, is that Nick's family is extremely wealthy, Nick himself is one of the country's most eligible bachelors, and his parents oppose him dating an American born Chinese woman. Perfect for fans of Gossip Girl, the movie hits theaters August 17, 2018.

If you like: Diverse Reads, Drama, Wit & Humor

The Girl in the Spider's Web by David Lagercrantz

The 4th book in the "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" series, journalist Mikael Blomkvist receives a phone call from a source with information vital to the U.S. Mikael turns to Lisbeth Salander for help and they both navigate a web of spies, cybercriminals, and governments around the world. Coming to theaters October 19, 2018.

If you like: Crime Fiction, Hackers, Strong Female Characters


Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

In a totalitarian state, books and reading are banned by the government. Guy Montag, a firefighter in charge of burning confiscated books, meets a schoolteacher who reads and another girl who speaks of a past where people did not live in fear. Coming to HBO date to be announced!

If you like: Classics, Science Fiction, Thought Provoking Reads


Happy Reading! -Kristin

Created by Kristin Lansdown on Jan 12th, 2018 @ 12:24 PM.
Updated on Jan 15th, 2018 @ 7:13 PM.